What to Know about Virginia’s Sex Offender Registry
Sex offenders are required to register with the Virginia State Police or their local law enforcement agency in the jurisdiction where they reside. The following includes some things to know about those who may be required to register their status.
Sex Offender Registry Guidelines
Convicted sexual offenders are required to register within a certain amount of time, depending on certain scenarios, or they may have to re-register based on the following scenarios:
- Every person is required to register in person within three days of their release from correctional facilities or a state civil commitment program for sexually violent predators, or release from a criminal correctional facility, jail, probation, or parole
- Within three days of receiving an additional conviction or suspended sentence
- Within three days of change in Virginia residence/mailing address, including if the sex offender becomes homeless, or ten days prior to change of residence if moving out of state
- Within three days of legally changing name through a court order; if there is a change in employment status, regardless if it’s in or out of Virginia; and a change in educational status, no matter whether it’s enrolling, quitting, or graduating
- Within three days of buying, selling, or any other change in owned vehicle registration
Convicted sex offenders are also required to notify a change in email address or other forms of electronic communication names within 30 minutes of the change. They are allowed to submit this electronically, but still must register in person within three days.
When it comes to re-registering without any of these scenarios taking place, there are still guidelines to keep tabs on registered sex offenders. For example, all sex offenders are required to re-register every two years and be photographed by the Virginia State Police or local law enforcement agency. Offenders who are listed as “Sexual” must re-register once a year. Failure to do so will require them to start registering every 180 days. Those offenders listed as “Sexually Violent” must re-register every 90 days, and failure to do so will change the requirement to every 30 days.
There is always some concern about whether registered sex offenders are allowed to travel internationally. In Virginia, any registrant is required to inform their residence jurisdiction of intended international travel no less than 21 days prior to the intended travel date. Once the information is provided to the appropriate law enforcement agency, they transmit it to the US Marshals Service.
The registry sets forth certain guidelines based on the conditions of the offender’s release. Some offenders are not allowed to live within 500 feet of a school, or public park that shares a border with a school. Others cannot loiter within 100 feet of certain premises where there is a school, child care program, or there is a playground, gym, or other facility where kids would reasonably be.
Sexually violent offenders are not allowed to be present during school hours, during school-related activities, or on any property during hours when the property is being used by a public or private school for school-related and/or sponsored activities.
Virginia Sexual Assault Attorneys
If you’re facing sexual assault charges in Virginia, you need an experienced Leesburg sexual assault attorney to help clear your name. Convictions carry lifelong consequences, so it’s critical to have a skilled attorney on your defense. The attorneys at Whitbeck Cisneros McElroy, PC in Virginia can help prepare the best legal defense possible. Contact our office to schedule a confidential consultation.